COVIMPACT

Last updated on 6-7-2021 by Pierre Daubresse

Follow up survey for people with COVID-19

You have recently tested positive for COVID-19. You may currently be experiencing some typical symptoms of the disease (fever, dry cough, fatigue,…). The recovery time for COVID-19 varies from person to person; some recover after a few days, others may experience persistent symptoms. 

In this context, we are organizing a study (COVIMPACT) that aims to answer several questions: How long does it take to recover from COVID-19? Does a COVID-19 infection have long-term effects? Do these effects also affect people without symptoms? 

Because you have tested positive for COVID-19, we invite you to participate in our study by completing a first questionnaire (max. 15 minutes), even if you have no or mild symptoms. Follow-up questionnaires (max. 10 minutes, no obligation) will be sent to you every 3 months, until April 2023. 

We would like to thank you for your interest in our study and wish you a speedy recovery. 

I complete the first survey

The questionnaire is also available in French, German and Dutch

Why participate? 

After a COVID-19 infection, some people may experience persistent symptoms, a syndrome called “COVID-long”. This syndrome can affect people who have experienced severe or mild forms of the disease. Recent studies show that people who have no symptoms may also develop long-term effects. We call on your cooperation for this follow-up study to increase knowledge about the long-term effects of COVID-19. 

How does this study work? 

The study consists of a first online questionnaire and several follow-up questionnaires. 

The purpose of the first questionnaire is to:

  • collect information about your possible symptoms during the first weeks of the disease and your health status before the infection 
  • ask for your consent and e-mail address to send you an invitation to complete the short questionnaires as part of the follow-up 

 Please complete the first questionnaire within 7 days of the contact tracing call. This will give us a more accurate picture of your symptoms during the first weeks of the disease.

The purpose of the follow-up questionnaires is to:

  • take measurements every 3 months to monitor your health status until the end of the study in April 2023 
  • collect information about your physical, mental and social health

It is recommended that you complete each questionnaire, although it is not an obligation. The follow-up of people who have no long-term symptoms is very important to produce unbiased results. This allows us to determine the proportion of people with and without COVID-long syndrome among those who have been infected.

Who is taking the initiative for this study? 

Researchers from Sciensano, the Belgian Institute of Health, led by Dr. Karin De Ridder and Dr. Rana Charafeddine from the lifestyle and chronic disease department.

Questions or technical problems? 

If you would like additional information or if you experience a technical problem, contact us by e-mail or by phone (02/642 57 39).

Protection of your data when participating? 

Participation is totally voluntary and you can decide to discontinue your participation at any time. The information you provide via the questionnaire will only be used for the goals mentioned above. Sciensano will only use this information to compile general statistics. Scientific publications can be created based on the results of the research, but your individual data will never be passed on to third parties.

The encrypted data shall be retained for the necessary duration of the research project. In accordance with the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), you have the right to access, modify or delete your data during this period. You can request Sciensano to do this via our online form. If you choose to share your e-mail address for the follow-up study, this e-mail address will only be retained until the end of the data collection of the COVIMPACT surveys and will be deleted afterward.

The COVIMPACT study was approved by the ethics committee of the University Hospital Ghent (UZ Gent) and the University of Ghent (UGent).

Questions or complaints about data protection?

If you have any question about data protection, please contact the Sciensano Data Protection Officer via DPO@sciensano.be or 02/642 51 02. If you have a complaint about how your data is being processed, you can contact the Belgian data protection authority: Drukpersstraat 35 — 1000 Brussels — Tel.: 02/274 48 00 — e-mail: contact@adp-gba.be.

QR code

QR code for this page URL

COVIMPACT

Last updated on 6-7-2021 by Pierre Daubresse

Enquête de suivi des personnes atteintes du COVID-19

Vous avez récemment été testé positif au COVID-19. Il se peut que vous ressentiez actuellement certains symptômes typiques de cette maladie (fièvre, toux sèche, fatigue…). La durée de guérison du COVID-19 varie d’une personne à l’autre ; certaines se rétablissent après quelques jours, d’autres peuvent souffrir de symptômes persistants. 

Dans ce cadre nous organisons une étude (COVIMPACT) qui vise à répondre à différentes questions : Combien de temps faut-il pour guérir du COVID-19 ? Une infection COVID-19 a-t-elle des effets à long terme ? Ces effets concernent-ils aussi les personnes sans symptômes ?

En tant que personne diagnostiquée positive vous êtes invitée à participer à l’étude en répondant  à un premier questionnaire (15 minutes maximum) même si vous ne présentez aucun symptôme ou des symptômes légers. Des questionnaires de suivi (10 minutes maximum) vous seront alors envoyés tous les 3 mois jusqu’en avril 2023 (sans obligation de participation).

Nous tenons déjà à vous remercions pour l’intérêt que vous portez à notre étude et vous souhaitons un prompt rétablissement.

Je complète le premier questionnaire

Le questionnaire est également disponible en néerlandais, allemand et anglais

Pourquoi participer? 

Suite à une infection au COVID-19 certaines personnes peuvent souffrir de symptômes persistants, un syndrome appelé « COVID-long ». Ce syndrome peut toucher les personnes ayant souffert de formes graves ou légères de la maladie. Des études récentes montrent que les personnes n’ayant pas eu de symptômes peuvent aussi ressentir des effets à long terme. Nous appelons à votre collaboration pour cette étude de suivi qui fera avancer la connaissance sur les effets de la maladie à long terme.  

En quoi consiste l’étude ?

L’étude consiste à répondre à un premier questionnaire en ligne et à plusieurs questionnaires de suivi. 

Le premier questionnaire a pour but de :

  • collecter des informations sur vos potentiels symptômes au cours des premières semaines de la maladie et sur votre état de santé avant l’infection
  • demander votre accord et votre adresse e-mail pour vous envoyer une invitation à remplir les brefs questionnaires dans le cadre du suivi

Complétez le premier questionnaire dans les 7 jours suivants l’appel du centre de suivi de contacts. De cette façon, nous obtiendrons une image plus précise de vos symptômes durant les premières semaines de  la maladie.

Les questionnaires de suivi ont pour but de :

  • prendre des mesures tous les 3 mois pour suivre l’évolution de votre état de santé et ceci jusqu’à la fin de l’étude en avril 2023 
  • collecter des informations sur votre santé physique, mentale et sociale

Il est recommandé de compléter chaque questionnaire, mais ce n’est pas une obligation. Le suivi des personnes qui ne présentent pas de symptômes à long terme est très important pour obtenir des résultats non biaisés. Cela permet de déterminer la proportion de personnes atteintes ou non du syndrome de COVID-long parmi celles ayant été infectées.

Qui est à l’initiative de cette étude ? 

Les chercheurs de Sciensano, sous la direction du Dr. Karin De Ridder et Dr. Rana Charafeddine du service “Modes de vie et maladies chroniques”.

Questions ou problèmes techniques ? 

Vous souhaitez obtenir des informations complémentaires ou vous rencontrez des problèmes  techniques en complétant l’enquête ? Contactez-nous par e-mail ou par téléphone (02/642 57 39).

Protection de vos données et de vos droits

La participation est entièrement volontaire et vous pouvez décider à tout moment d’y mettre fin. Les informations que vous fournissez via le questionnaire ne seront utilisées qu’aux fins mentionnées ci-dessus. Sciensano n’utilisera ces informations que pour des statistiques générales. Des publications scientifiques peuvent être créées sur la base des résultats de l’enquête, mais vos données individuelles ne seront jamais transmises à des tiers. 

Les données cryptées seront conservées pendant la durée nécessaire de la recherche. Conformément au règlement général sur la protection des données (RGPD), vous avez le droit d’accéder à vos données, de les modifier ou de les supprimer pendant cette période. Vous pouvez demander à Sciensano de le faire via le formulaire en ligne. Si vous choisissez de partager votre adresse électronique pour l’étude de suivi, cette adresse électronique ne sera conservée que jusqu’à la fin de la collecte des données, et sera ensuite supprimée.

L’étude COVIMPACT a été approuvée par le comité d’éthique de l’hôpital universitaire de Gand (UZ Gent) et l’Université de Gand (UGent).

Questions ou plaintes concernant la protection de vos données

Si vous avez des questions à ce sujet, veuillez contacter le responsable de la protection des données de Sciensano à l’adresse DPO@sciensano.be ou au 02/642 51 02. Si vous avez une plainte à formuler sur la manière dont vos données sont traitées, vous pouvez contacter l’autorité belge de protection des données : rue de la Presse 35 — 1000 Bruxelles — Tél : 02/274 48 00 — e-mail : contact@apd-gba.be.

QR code

QR code for this page URL