Primary tabs

Dr. Didier Breyer PhD

Scientist

I received my Ph.D. in Biology from the University of Liège (Belgium) in 1989 and conducted academic research activities for 6 years in the field of molecular biology applied to micro-organisms.

Since 1995 I have been working as senior scientist in the Service Biosafety and Biotechnology (SBB) of Sciensano (Brussels, Belgium). I have been appointed as Head of Unit a.i. since August 2016.

My professional activities focus on scientific expertise related to biosafety matters (i.e. the safety for human health and the environment of activities involving genetically modified and pathogenic organisms).

I am involved in particular in the scientific evaluation and administrative follow-up of regulatory dossiers, providing scientific support to the Belgian Biosafety Advisory Council and the Belgian Competent Authorities. I am participating in communication activities including publication of scientific papers, oral presentations, and participation in research projects (Co-Extra, COST action on GM Trees, GRACE). I am also working at the development and management of web-based information exchange mechanisms in the field of biosafety (see in particular the “Belgian Biosafety Server” — http://www.biosafety.be).

I am representing Belgium in international bodies acting in the field of biosafety (UN, OECD). From 1996 to 2004, I have coordinated at Belgian level the negotiation and implementation of the Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety and I am currently appointed as Belgian Focal Point for the Biosafety Clearing-House of the Cartagena Protocol.

Works in:

Read more

Contact form

French

QR code

QR code for this page URL

Onglets principaux

Dr. Didier Breyer PhD

Collaborateur scientifique

Je suis Docteur en Sciences Biologiques de l’Université de Liège (Belgique) depuis 1989. J’ai ensuite exercé des activités de recherche en milieu académique dans le domaine de la biologie moléculaire appliquée aux micro-organismes.

Depuis 1995, je travaille comme scientifique dans le Service Biosécurité et Biotechnologie (SBB) de Sciensano (Bruxelles, Belgique). J’exerce la fonction de chef de service a.i. depuis août 2016.

Mes activités professionnelles sont axées sur l'expertise scientifique liée aux questions de biosécurité (c'est-à-dire la sécurité pour la santé humaine et l'environnement des activités impliquant des organismes génétiquement modifiés et pathogènes).

Je suis notamment impliqué dans l'évaluation scientifique et le suivi administratif des dossiers réglementaires, apportant un soutien scientifique au Conseil Consultatif belge de Biosécurité et aux autorités compétentes belges. Je participe à des activités de communication incluant la publication d'articles scientifiques, des présentations orales et la participation à des projets de recherche (Co-Extra, action COST sur les arbres génétiquement modifiés, GRACE). Je travaille également au développement et à la gestion de mécanismes d'échange d'informations sur Internet dans le domaine de la biosécurité (voir en particulier le «Belgian Biosafety Server» — http://www.biosafety.be).

Je représente la Belgique dans des instances internationales actives dans le domaine de la biosécurité (ONU, OCDE). De 1996 à 2004, j'ai coordonné au niveau belge la négociation et la mise en œuvre du Protocole de Cartagena sur la prévention des risques biotechnologiques et je suis actuellement désigné comme point focal belge pour le Centre d'échange pour la prévention des risques biotechnologiques du Protocole de Cartagena.

Travaille dans:

Lire la suite

Formulaire de contact

QR code

QR code for this page URL